A TrumpCare Is Coming

It’s Sunday, Nov 13th. Last week, America elected what has to be one of the top 5 most ridiculous presidents in our history.

You may think I’m going to rant on that subject, of the embarrassment of having an orange buffoon as our prez – but we had Baby Bush for 2 terms – and I truly don’t know which one will prove to be more of a joke. Baby Bush is, in my opinion, the absolute worst ever. And yes, I am considering them all:

  • Andrew Johnson“This is a country for white men, and by God, as long as I am President, it shall be a government for white men.”  – 1866
  • Andrew Jackson – When Jackson discovered gold on Cherokee land in Georgia, he simply ignored existing treaties and had one of his own agents, John Ridge, “negotiate” the Treaty of New Echota on behalf of the Cherokees–forcing their displacement on what became known as the “Trail of Tears.”
  • Mallord Filmore – Fillmore, who claimed to “detest” slavery but invariably supported it, had the Fugitive Slave Act of 1853 passed to remedy this problem–not only requiring free states to return slaves to their “owners,” but also making it a federal crime not to assist in doing so.

5zkWOMa.pngNow, our pissed off and frankly, uninformed citizenry voted in another ignorant fool: The “Orange Buffoon of Business.” I give him this title, because unlike us, he has the ability to file bankruptcy and walk away on his debt. My student loans from a fraudulent school, CRI, are mine forever.

But, I digress.

One of Trump’s platform promises is that he will immediately eliminate Obamacare. That means over 33 million Americans will lose health care. It means ‘previous (medical) conditions’ will once again be a reason for corporate insurance companies can deny treatment for medical problems you have prior to signing up; if, in fact, you can afford to sign up or are forced to pay for the higher and higher premiums thru your job.

In other words, we are going to go back to the days where people either pay or die.

I use to be an ass-kicking middle-aged minute female working in commercial and charter fishing industries. And I loved it! From March thru September, I worked 7 days a week, 15 hrs a day helping up to 23 people catch fish.

Come October, I worked in the Willapa and Chehalis watersheds counting salmon, their redds, and taking scale samples, as a Spawning Ground Surveyor (SGS) for Washington’s Dept of Fish & Wildlife. I mostly worked in the Willapa river system. SGS have to go to where the salmon, chum, and steelhead are, so it was a lot of climbing, hiking, exposed to wind (trees love to fall in the wind), rain, snow, hail, and wildlife (the worst being hunters).

My body gave out in April 2011. My elbows became so painful to bend, it literally took my ability to think or concentrate away. Then, my ankles and all the little joints in my toes joined in on the task of kicking my ass.  I couldn’t walk – it literally felt like I had broken my toe, then ankle, then a different toe – in both feet! No doctor is gonna believe this is happening! Three years of this living hell, going to 8 doctors/quacks who all called me a liar, costing me $20,000 from my savings, and barely able to wipe my own ass, my sister, Diane, suggested I get tested for Lupus.

In March of 2014, I was diagnosed by Kevin Finnegan, a PA (physician’s assistant), with Mixed Connective Tissue Disease. We just called it Lupus. Kevin was so incredible in helping me get most of my life back – Vicodin for pain, Prednisone so I could keep going (albeit without sleep for weeks – and – steroids are evil little attitude adjusters), and Gabapentin to quiet the pinched nerves. Kevin listened to what I had learned online and allowed me to try different meds that may, or may not, work: Plaquenil, Corticosteroids, Antimalarials…yeah…like that. In the end, the Gabapentin and Vicoden, along with a diet change and vitamins (lots and lots of Vit D & E really help), kept me doing fairly well.

By the time Obamacare was in affect, my savings was gone, I couldn’t deckhand for more than 3 days at a time, and when I was off, I had to sit. I couldn’t do household chores or run errands at stores, cuz if I did, it’d take me that much longer to recuperate and I had to get back to work! But, Obamacare gave me medicaid. I wasn’t proud, but I was qualified as my income was pathetic…everyone’s incomes are pathetic (but that’s another rant).

Today, CNN reports::

Obamacare

Trump has previously called Obamacare a “disaster.” But, he told the Wall Street Journal, “I told him I will look at his suggestions, and out of respect, I will do that.”
In an interview with CBS’ “60 Minutes” that aired later Friday, he specifically talked about the need to continue coverage for individuals with pre-existing conditions.
“Yes, because it happens to be one of the strongest assets,” Trump told Leslie Stahl.
Trump also said he’d try to keep the measure that allows young people to stay on their parents’ insurance plans until age 26.
“We’re going to very much try to keep that. It adds cost but it’s very much something we’re going to try to keep,” Trump said.
Trump’s openness to compromising on Obamacare, however, was complicated Friday by a shift in the official positions listed on his website.
The Washington Post reported that Trump has revised his health care agenda to steer it more in line with Republican Party orthodoxy.
The paper said the presidential transition website has been edited to now include allowing health care workers to not perform acts that would violate their religious or moral beliefs and to “protect innocent human life from conception to natural death.”
The paper also said the website omits Trump’s call to allow Americans to import prescription drugs from other countries where they are sold at lower prices.
I am terrified. In our state, Washington, Obamacare’s fine print made it illegal for Primary Care Physicians (PCP) to prescribe opioids – to anyone – for any reason. All those with cancer, chronic illnesses like mine, arthritis, etc, had to go to “Pain Clinics.” These are/were pill mills. Line ’em up and Pass out them Pills. I had to go in and take a UA, sit in a room stuffed full of people also begging for pain pills. It was a humiliating experience. The silver lining was I could also get steroid injections for my crushed disks. Yeah, Degenerative Disk Disease. Painful, hard to deal with, but if this is all I had wrong with me, I’d be effen happier than a room full of kids!
Seattle Pain Clinic, Washington’s largest pill mill, was shut down last July by the DEA & state officials because 18 people might have overdosed on opioids.This report says the Clinic was going to stay open – it didn’t. Other reports said patients could get pain support via their PCP – they couldn’t. Swedish Hospital agreed to help up to 5,000 chronically ill patients…I have no idea if they did. It wouldn’t have helped me. Swedish is about 220 miles one way from where I live.
So, closing the only pill mill meant 30,000 chronically ill people are kicked off of any pain support because 18 assholes decided to OD. There are always gonna be addicts in programs like this. They are always gonna die. Isn’t that the law of nature?
But, losing my access to the Vicoden has sent me down a horrendous road: The daily bottle of 100-ct Aspirin/Ibuprofin/Tylenol mix. If I take up to 20 of these each, the pain backs off, but all I want to do is puke. I have blood in my urine, now. When I went to my new clinic, they just said, “stop taking so many aspirin.” Yeah, right. Suck it up and shut up, is what these doctors want now.
For about 9 months, I’ve tried to get a referral to a rheumatologist in Olympia. None of them take Obamacare/Medicaid. Nope. I have to drive that 200 miles (one-way). I’m waiting still to hear if the referral was accepted. So, basically, I have very minute medical support. None, really. Just me. I’ve seriously considered buying pain meds off the street, but HA! I’d need money for that, wouldn’t I!
I am tired. I now work 3 days a week at our local liquor store. Me. Who use to deckhand, holds a 100-ton Master Mariner License, has a background as an Executive Admin to C-Level Mgmt (CEO, CFO, etc), and a background in Marketing & Graphic Design, now work 3 days a week at an effen liquor store. I was working 4 days a week, but couldn’t do it.
58210171060d39b46126378544e2068f.jpgWhen I go to sleep at night, IF I go to sleep, I don’t want to wake up…ever. For what? I don’t make enough to pay my meager bills: Rent, PUD, phone, internet. I don’t carry car insurance. My car is in serious need of repair. I can’t afford to get my hair cut!!! I am on food stamps. And I hurt so much all the time, I am eating a bottle of 100-ct Ibuprofen every day just to cut the screaming down, which has started to make me nauseated; so, I’m gonna have to go back on  :::gulp:::  Prednisone.
I don’t want to wake up. I have no joy in life: None! I’d love to paint, but I can’t afford paint. I’d love to visit my family, but that’s not in my budget of negative $300/month, now is it. So, the question I ask myself everyday is: Why keep going? I’m a burden on my daughter who sends me money each month. I don’t have any quality of life. When people do visit, it’s such a drain physically, mentally, and yes, financially (toilet paper, electricity, etc), and the stress activates my stupid damn illness again.
I’ve been single since 1997. The love of my life left me and I broke inside. There is never gonna be another significant other in my life and I’ve been very, very happy with that. But, being ill like this is so hard alone. I’d so appreciate someone to mow, or cook, or run basic errands. Little things are huge things for me now. What does truly make me beyond mad is that friends all want me to help them…all the time! Right now, someone needs me to go to their house and fix their printer. Nevermind that I hurt and feel nauseated. Nevermind that I have less than a 1/4 tank of gas. Never mind that I could use a little help of my own…I get this every day. And, more and more, I tell people I can’t. And more and more, I am removed from their thoughts.
It’s been years since I’ve been invited to functions. Mostly because of the pain, I just couldn’t go. I wasn’t up to it and I still am not. But, being left out and forgotten is probably the hardest part of chronic illness. As time goes on, people just think they shouldn’t ask if I’d like to come. I get that, absolutely. Why invite someone who never attends? It’s one of the reasons I quit social media. Parties, weddings, youth activities, etc – everyone is together laughing and smiling while I wasn’t even asked. And, no, I am sure I could not have gone. I wouldn’t have felt well, I would have been exhausted, and I would have been embarrassed to be seen hobbling, unable to stand or walk well. I have gained so much weight, when friends see me after a year or so, the shock of how fat and unkempt I have become is visible on their faces. My hair, my clothes, my pallor: I truly have become a poverty-level leach on society – and it shows.
My once animated, strong, passionate spirit is beat into pain and discomfort. And I hate life. I have to check out. I want so much to “Get Low.” I am done with this life and I am ready for whatever comes next. I pray day and night for Yahweh to give me Tommy’s terminal cancer. Give Tommy my permanent, non-terminal, get-to-deal-with-it-everyday-forever disease – let him and his wife sell the boat, move to Thailand and be happy together. And give me his. Let me die, alone. I wouldn’t even fight it – I’d just let the cancer run it’s beautifully terminal course.
Washington (CNN)  Donald Trump campaign manager Kellyanne Conway says the President-elect is considering calling a “special session” of Congress on the day he’s sworn in to repeal President Barack Obama’s health care law.
With Trump taking the throne of the “most powerful person in the world” my life, and that of countless millions, will become unbearable. I can’t guess what this Orange Megalomaniac will do; but, it won’t be beneficial for people like me: in his eyes, I am a Loser.
I won’t be even more of a financial burden on my daughter. She’ll have her hands full with her own life. So, Orange Buffoon of Business, do what you will: I am ready.
fdaDeath be not proud…” by John Donne
This entry was posted in Chronic Illness, Health, Life, Lupus, Pain, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

